In 2018, to mark our 70th anniversary year, we will be presenting our own version of the Academy Awards: The PLOSCARS, recognising excellence in our productions of the past five years.

Our members are invited to vote for the winners, with all awards being announced on Saturday 16 June at our Gala event.

NODA Awards

PLOS is affiliated to NODA – the National Operatic and Dramatic Association – which represents amateur theatrical societies throughout the UK. Each year NODA holds regional awards recognising the best in amateur theatre. All winners of London District Awards are put forward to the Regional Awards later this year.

Winners of the 2017 London District Awards:

  • The Charles Sumner Award for Best Male in a Play – Rob Malone as The Waiter in Dinner
  • The Nigel Gravette Award for Best Performance in a Pantomime – Philip Ruby as Little John in Robin Hood
  • The Pat Redhead Award for Best Drama – Dinner
  • The Sybil Conway Award for Best Female in a Play – Nicola Roscoe for Dinner

The Brian Davis Trophy

The Brian Davis Trophy is awarded to a PLOS member who has shown outstanding commitment to the society. It was set up in 2001 to honour a longstanding member, Brian Davis, who sadly passed away suddenly in December 1999. Brian was involved with PLOS for 30 years and his unfailing commitment and enthusiasm played a huge part in making the society what it is today.

The trophy is voted on by the current committee, with input from members – both past and present:

Past recipients:

2016 – Nicky Radford
2015 – Hannah Pratt
2014 – Ben Waterhouse
2013 – Kelly Burgess-Bartlett
2012 – Alice Berrido
2011 – Ligia Kowalska
2009 – Emma Pearson
2007 – Belinda Fraser
2005 – Steve Corbey

2004 – Penny Hughes
2003 – Danny McVeigh
2001 – Mike Elston

If you know someone’s dedication to PLOS that needs recognising, then please feel free to suggest their nomination for the award by emailing or speaking to one of the committee.